• 00


  • 00


  • 00


  • 00



15 - 17 July 2018, Christ's College, Christchurch


Click here to download an A4 copy of the programme


Saturday 14 July

11.00am - 5.00pm

Te Maruata hui
Tuahiwi Marae,
Tuahiwi, Canterbury

Sunday 15 July

9.00am - 6.00pm Registration desk open
Christ's College, Auditorium foyer, 33 Rolleston Ave
Barista coffee available in the Dining Hall from 2pm
Kindly sponsored by Fonterra
Council hosted tours
  • Connected communities at the heart of our resilient city -  FULLY BOOKED
  • City smarts in an emerging creative city - FULLY BOOKED
  • Rolleston, Norman Kirk's "Town of the Future" - new tour
Ticketed event. Departing from Christ's College, 33 Rolleston Ave. For further information click here
9.30am  National Council meeting
followed by lunch 
Rydges Latimer, Clarendon Room, 30 Latimer Square
Members only
Young Elected Members catch up
Bunsen Cafe, The Arts Centre
Members only  
12.00pm  Local Government New Zealand AGM
Rydges Latimer, Ballroom, 30 Latimer Square
Members only
Followed by a photo of all Mayors and Chairs
Coach transfer to Christ's College available immediately following AGM
From 2.00pm Afternoon tea
Christ's College Dining Hall, 33 Rolleston Ave
Member only meetings
  • Mayors Taskforce for Jobs AGM
  • Regional Sector meeting
  • Young Elected Members meeting
  • Te Maruata Roopu Whakahaere
Christ's College, 33 Rolleston Ave
Members only
Mihi and opening ceremony
Christ's College Auditorium, 33 Rolleston Ave 
Dave Cull, President, LGNZ
Lianne Dalziel, Mayor, Christchurch City Council
4.45pm Government's address
Hon Grant Robertson
, Minister of Finance
Christ's College Auditorium
5.00pm LGNZ President's address
Christ's College Auditorium
Dave Cull, President, LGNZ
5.15pm Opening keynote address: Building resilience for a vibrant and prosperous future
Infrastructure, environment and future proofing our communities in the global context.
Sam Johnson, social entrepreneur
Christ's College Auditorium, 33 Rolleston Ave
Kindly sponsored by Heritage EQUIP, Manatu Taonga | Ministry for Culture & Heritage  


Welcome from Simpson Grierson 
Jonathan Salter,
Partner, Simpson Grierson

Followed by Simpson Grierson welcome reception
Christchurch Art Gallery
For more information click here

Monday 16 July

All conference sessions on Monday 16 July take place at Christ's College, 33 Rolleston Ave.
7.30am Registration desk open
Barista coffee available
Kindly sponsored by Fonterra
7.00am Transpower breakfast session with Robett Hollis
Ticketed event. For further information click here
Rydges Latimer
Kindly sponsored by Transpower
8.30am Master of ceremonies
Mark Sainsbury
8.40am Creating resilient, sustainable and liveable places
Place-making for resilient communities.
Kylie Legge, Director, Place Partners
Kindly sponsored by Chorus
 9.25am Building a strong community - a tale of a new region
The Canterbury regions's collaboration and vision for a new life, new identity and new opportunities.
Chair: Joanna Norris, Chief Executive, ChristchurchNZ
Justin Watson, Chief Aeronautical and Commercial Officer, Christchurch Airport (CIAL) 
Josiah Tualamali'i, Chair, Chair, Pacific Youth Leadership and Transformation Council and panel member Mental Health and Addictions Inquiry
Arihia Bennett, Chief Executive, Te Runanga o Ngai Tahu
Erica Austin, Chief Experience Curator at E.A. Curation
Mike Gillooly, Chief Resilience Officer, Christchurch City Council
Kindly sponsored by NZ Transport Agency
10.05am Morning tea
10.45am Building strong local economic prosperity
Social, cultural, economic and environmental policy settings can place New Zealanders among the most prosperous and happiest people in the world.
Michael Dunlop, Acumen Republic
Oliver Hartwich, The New Zealand Initiative
Martine Udahemuka, The New Zealand Initiative  
11.25am Inspiring Maori connections to grow thriving, prosperous communities
How to interact and engage appropriately with Maori as a strategic partner.
Associate Professor Te Maire Tau, Director, Ngai Tahu Research Centre
12.05pm Lunch
1.05pm Leading our response to climate change: adapting to the changing environment
Climate change adaption and mitigation.
Hon James Shaw, Minister for Climate Change,
Dave Cull, President, LGNZ
Kindly sponsored by Ministry for the Environment 
1.45pm  Working together to tackle three waters infrastructure challenges facing New Zealand
Healthy and resilient water sources.
Jonson Cox, Chairman, Ofwat, UK
Kindly sponsored by DairyNZ
2.25pm Presentation of Minister of Local Government EXCELLENCE Award for Outstanding Contribution to Local Government
Hon Nanaia Mahuta, Minister of Local Government 
Kindly sponsored by Te Tari Taiwhenua Internal Affairs
2.35pm  Afternoon tea
3.00 - 5.00pm Interactive sessions (delegates select an interactive workshop or the city walking tour)

Interactive workshops (at the venue)

1. Best practice: Building excellence in locally delivered infrastructure and services FULLY BOOKED
2. Climate change: The challenges of climate change decision making and opportunities for adaption   Kindly sponsored by Deep South National Science Challenge
3. Water: Addressing New Zealand's water infrastructure and freshwater challenges

City walking tour (offsite - tour departs from Christ's College) FULLY BOOKED 
Christchurch resilience tour

For further information on interactive sessions please click here
Fulton Hogan conference dinner and LGNZ EXCELLENCE Awards 
Wigram Air Force Museum
For more information including coach transport please click here

Tuesday 17 July

All conference sessions on Tuesday 7July take place at Christ's College, 33 Rolleston Ave.
Registration desk open 
Barista coffee available
Kindly sponsored by Fonterra
Minister of Local Government address 
Hon Nanaia Mahuta
, Minister of Local Government
Inspiring health and wellbeing of our communities
Healthy communities lead to prosperous, resilient and vibrant communities.
Deidre Otene, CEO, Te Kotahitanga e Mahi Kaha Trust 
10.15am Morning tea
11.00am  Harnessing localism and empowering communities to succeed 
Social groups making positive change in their communities.
Angela O'Leary, Hamilton City Council and Julie Nelson, Joint Chief Executive, Wise Group
Michelle Sharp, Trustee, Akina Foundation
Margaret Jefferies, Chair, Project Lyttelton
Michelle Bruce and Katelyn Twiss, Selwyn Youth Council
Kindly sponsored by Creative New Zealand
12.00pm Closing keynote: Shaping the future of our communities
Leadership, infrastructure, environment, sustainability, localism, arts and culture, economies and future proofing our communities.  
Daniel Flynn, founder and managing director of Thankyou
Kindly sponsored by GHD
12.45pm  Early bird registration prize draw
(you must be in the audience to win)
12.50pm  Conference closing address
1.00pm Lunch


Platinum sponsors